Lifestyle · review · Uncategorized

Millennial: A Podcast Review

I feel like I don’t have time for anything. Working two jobs (one full-, one part-time), leaving time to take care of myself, and trying to run a mediocre blog take up much of my time, and I don’t have the time I would like to enjoy other things like reading or watching TV.

When working online, I tried listening to music so I felt like I was still able to find new media to be interested in. But I wasn’t really feeling that vibe every day. So then I decided to give podcasts a try. Why not? Maybe I can learn something or whatever.

I used to not really listen to podcasts or talks that are audio-only because it is hard for me to listen to something without drifting off and losing focus. But I needed some background noise, so I decided to give them a go.

I originally found a Pinterest post, 18 Best Podcasts for Millennials, and decided to give a few of them a try.

There must be a reason Millennial was the first one on the list.

I have been really feeling this podcast. Millennial became more than just a background track to me though. This story about a woman trying to navigate her twenties resonated with my soul.

It is so comforting to know that someone is going through similar struggles, and having the same feelings I am having towards life. I have been struggling with my own creative project while working a “meaningless” and “unfulfilling” job. I am searching for something greater, but I am not sure what I even want or where I want to go. Tan’s narrative of the same struggles of not knowing what her career goals are, her feeling burnt out from doing both her creative project and her full-time job, of dealing with having no time and trying to keep her romantic life up: these are all things I am going through.

The podcast starts off solely on her and her struggles, but then evolves to include other stories incorporated into her main narrative. It tackles tough topics like jealousy, what makes you an adult, making difficult life decisions between making money and pursuing a passion, even taxes.

I need to know that there are other people who feel the same way I do, and Millennial does that for me in a format that works great. The podcast is a way for me to work two jobs, and still have time to listen to it while I work on the computer. It isn’t too distracting, and Tan’s voice is rather soothing.

When looking for something to listen to, it has to have good audio quality. That means I don’t want to hear people breathing, and I can’t stand when someone talks too much and so much that they make themselves run out of breath. Megan Tan knows how to tell a story without getting ahead of herself. She might record in a closet, but it is worth it for that clear audio quality.

For those of you who aren’t as easily triggered as me, there are many other reasons why you should listen to this podcast if you are a twenty-something trying to navigate your twenties, especially if you are fresh off the college graduation stage. Even if you aren’t, this podcast has plenty to offer you.

It is highly recommended you start from episode one and work your way through. There are only 43 episodes out currently, and each one is only about 20-30 minutes, so it won’t be hard to catch up. I am only on episode 21, but I have loved each one. I never felt a lull or loss of energy in her production value.

Millennial is the kind of content I needed in my life while I try to figure myself out. So while I am working to pay off student loans, I have Megan Tan there with, comfortably chatting away about topics I care about.

What have you been feeling lately? Anyone have any inspiring books or talks they want to share? The comment section is always open!

 

 

**The feature image of this post was taken by @NikkiiPhotographyy. Check out her page and give it a follow**

 

One thought on “Millennial: A Podcast Review

Leave a Reply

