Beauty · Lifestyle

Summer 2017 Beauty Picks

Summer is pretty much here in Jersey. It’s been 90 degrees (Fahrenheit) these past two days, and my body was not ready. While ditching the light layers of spring so I don’t sweat to death, I started thinking about how the layers of makeup on my face must look. I use a pretty thick foundation (Maybelline Fit Me) and concealer (Covergirl or Maybelline) to hide all the red in my face. Pretty sure I have borderline Rosacea.
So, needless to say, my face looks pretty bad after a hot day.
Anyway, just like my wardrobe, I wanted to strip the layers from my face as well. I don’t want my face to look like a melted on waffle cone.
It was time to embark on the journey of finding lighter coverage that still masked the red. I am tired of looking like a ripening tomato with these patches of red. It what keeps me from going completely makeup-less.
I’ve tried some lighter foundations or BB creams before, but none of them seemed to blend out the red. Some made my face redder. I’ve tried a few different lotions, some seemed to help, but as soon as I skipped a day (oops), the red just comes right back full swing. And nothing got rid of it, the red only just got a shade lighter.
Then I discovered CC cream.
I haven’t tried many CC creams, but since I love Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, I decided I would buy a few products from them. I have heard Clinique is great for people with sensitive skin, which I think I might have. The moisturizing gel works well on my face, and it really helps eliminate most of the red. But since my skin is determined to match my hair, I needed to find something stronger. So along with the CC cream (Moisture Surge™ CC Cream Hydrating Colour Corrector Broad Spectrum SPF 30 in Very Light), I got the Redness Solutions Daily Relief Cream With Probiotic Technology.
Those products are a mouthful.
Now I can’t do a full review, because I have only been using the stuff for two days, but let me tell you, I feel like I have a whole new face.
Two night’s ago, I bought the L’Oreal Paris Skin Care Pure Clay Mask Detox and Brighten mask. I cleaned my face with some Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes, and slathered that clay mask on. It felt cool and nice on the skin, but it did smell a little weird. It is clay and charcoal. After ten minutes, I rinsed it off, and my face felt fresh and soft. Then I dabbed and gently rubbed in some of the Redness Solutions cream. The cream doesn’t feel any different from other face lotions I have used, which is fine because it goes on like a dream, but the major plus is that it doesn’t make my face flush.
Next day, my face was still red, but noticeably less so. I put on more Redness cream (it said to use twice a day). I wanted to try the CC cream so bad, so even though I had to go to work that day and this had the possibility of not turning out well, I opened the bottle and started applying with my fingers.
First impression: it smells like sunblock. Being SPF 30, which is more than most makeups, I kind of accepted the smell. Being a ghost, I could use some stronger SPF. The formula is very light, and doesn’t have that thick consistency that most other makeups I have used. I was worried because you could still see my freckles. But then I started to notice something … the red was disappearing.
So you could see my freckles through the formula (something I hadn’t had the privilege of having because of needing the caked-on look), but the red was blending away. It wasn’t a completely flawless look, there was still some patches, but I was completely happy. With use of the combination mask, relief cream, and CC cream, I am hoping the redness will ease away, but for now, I am so happy.
Now it says I can layer foundation or concealer on top with the CC cream if I need it. But I think I am going to continue to ditch the layers, and let my face breath for a little. I am not quite ready to go completely makeup-less wherever I go, a girl needs a confidence booster, but these light, wonderful, non-irritating formulas will hopefully help.
In addition to my face feeling light, I picked out a lip color to match this new inner brightness I was feeling. I got the Chubby Stick Baby Tint Moisturizing Lip Color Balm so I could moisturize while adding a pop of color. This is the orange I needed for the season, and you can see my freckle through the formula.
I hope this post helps inspire some to lighten their makeup routine! I basically wore CC Cream, Maybelline’s Highlighting Concealer around my eyes, some Glossier Cloud Paint in Puff, mascara (Maybelline Great Lash), and some Poppin’ Poppy for some more added color to my face. It is the least amount of makeup I have worn out in a while.
What makeup look are you excited to wear this summer? Anyone going lighter in their routine? Anyone going makeup-less? If you have any suggestions for other types of skin problems, I would love for you to comment or add links to your own posts (or others) as well!
Just for reference: I am super white. Ghostly pale. Practically transparent. My skin is mostly dry, but I do have some oily spots in the T-zone. I have sparse freckles under my eyes and on the upper cheek bones. And of course, red patches mostly on my cheeks and around my mouth area. I don’t tend to have breakouts, I only get one or two pimples every month because of hormones.
Interested in seeing other makeup products I have tried? Check out these links:
One thought on “Summer 2017 Beauty Picks

  1. Love the picks! The clinique is def my fav. Loved this entry. I just found your blog today and I’m looking forward to your future posts!
    Stop by sometime bb,
    Mena
    femmerewritten.com 🌷✨

    Like

Leave a Reply

