book review

Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

If you are looking for a quick pick-me-up, Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) is the book you need. It takes about two days to read, claimed by Kaling confirmed by me, and is the refresher I needed.

Kaling shares personal childhood stories and more to explain her thoughts and to create a better picture of why she turned out to be the way she is. Her wit makes the stories interesting and fun, and she manages to seamlessly bring you from one point to another.

Personally, I have been in a weird, emotional spot between being quite content with yet questioning my entire existence. But Mindy pulled me back to reality. It’s nice to be reminded that life isn’t what it appears to be onscreen, and that milestones don’t have to be reached by certain ages, or quite frankly, at all. Kaling’s retelling of learning how to ride a bike at twelve reminded me that some people take a little longer to reach certain goals, and others may never attain them. But that’s okay. Not everyone needs to know how to ride a bike.

She also surprised me by being very similar to me. We both think roasts of people are mean-spirited. We both think marriages should be between pals. People who go around frothing at the mouth about how marriage is work and calls their significant other a “ball and chain,” probably aren’t too happy in their relationships. How you shouldn’t peak in high school. How one-night stands are a confusing concept. And I, too, am a professional of the Irish exit.

Kaling is the hilarious narcissist we all need. I have only seen her on The Office. Even though Kelly Kapoor was a funny character, I want to be BFFs with Mindy Kaling.

Honestly, if you want insight into the comedy world with some backstory, then just go read this book. It put me in such a good mood. There are details about her writing work for SNL, for The Office, and a few other gigs along the way.

 

Has anyone seen the Mindy Project? I’ve been meaning to check it out.

 

 

**Picture taken from Goodreads***

Leave a Reply

